Sydney’s Mitchell Library turns 100 this month. Founded by the bequest of many thousands of rare books (the collection of bibliophile David Scott Mitchell) and opened on March 9th, 1910, it is probably the biggest and best concentration of literary Australiana anywhere in the world.

Mitchell Library. Photo by J Bar.

To celebrate, the Mitchell Library is staging an exhibition of 100 of its most precious objects. The exhibition, entitled One Hundred, runs from March 9th until mid-June. Here’s a link to my feature about the occasion published in Qantas The Australian Way this month.

Having spent many an hour mining the Mitchell’s riches and enjoying the olde-worlde atmosphere of its splendid reading room, I would have no hesitation in naming the Mitchell Library as one of my favourite Sydney places.

I did most of my research for my convict book Tour To Hell there and I’m very pleased that it has now taken its place in the Mitchell catalogue.

